Decaf Morning Happy Drink

About a week ago, I ran across a drink idea on Pinterest that caught my attention.

Modern Parents Messy Kids suggested a drink to help bring down your dependence on coffee, and increase healthy fats.

I was extremely curious, as were the dozens people who immediately repinned the post.

So this morning, I gave it a try.

I followed her recipe, but I put things together a little differently. Mine ended up more like a Coconut Mocha latte, which is a wonderful way to start the day.

Since I’m not drinking caffeine this month, I made this with decaf coffee. I know it’s not completely caffeine free, but it’s as close as I’m going to get right now. That 6:45 alarm comes early, and sometimes, especially on the weekends, I need something hot to get out of bed for.

This drink is amazing. Chocolate-y. Coconut-y. Froth-y. Hot and amazing. But it isn’t sweet. If you typically take sugar with your coffee, I’d add the same amount of sweetener you normally use. Still an amazing take on the morning cup of joe.

 

Morning Happy Drink (from Modern Parents Messy Kids)

  • 4 oz of Coconut Milk
  • 8 oz of Decaf Coffee
  • 1 Heaping Tablespoon of Cocoa Powder, I used Hershey’s Special Dark

Happy Drink Coconut Milk

I placed 4 oz of coconut milk in a glass measuring cup, and microwaved it for 30 seconds, so everything would be hot.

Happy Morning Drink Milk Frother

I then used my milk frother to mix together the coconut milk and the cocoa powder.

Morning Happy Drink Cocoa Milk

It was very difficult not to drink that as is, and I think if you stopped here an pour this over ice cream or swirled this with yogurt, it would be a very good thing.

Morning Happy Drink Froth

If you don’t have a frother, use a spoon, but the frother does give it a wonderful foam. An immersion blender would probably yield the same results.

Morning Happy Drink Coffee

Then, I added 8 oz of hot, decaf coffee. If you aren’t off caffeine, just use regular coffee, or expresso would be awesome in this.

Morning Happy Drink

Pour into a nice large mug, and sip away.

Morning Happy Drink

Realistically, if you don’t have huge mugs like I do, this recipe makes enough for 2 regular sized coffee cups. But remember, there is a high milk to coffee ratio, so you may not want to share.

2 thoughts on “Decaf Morning Happy Drink

Leave a Reply

