Reusable Smoothie Straws

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Since I’ve been getting my smoothie groove on lately, I started thinking about how I was drinking them.

Isn’t the idea of consuming mass quantities of fruits and vegetables to make me healthier?

Why am I sucking these healthy drinks through a plastic grocery store straw?

Are those safe?

Am I slowly ingesting plastic?

How about BPA?

I really had no idea. I started asking these questions of Google as well as looking into alternative straws.

As it turns out, with the frequency I eat smoothies, I had reason to be skeptical of my straws. Not really the best health-wise or for the environment.

But really, what is a smoothie without a straw?

As I found out, there are 4 main alternative to plastic disposable straws:

Metal 

Stainless steel or titanium. 10 dollars for a set 0f 4, and reusable.

I didn’t order any to try because they get cold when placed in cold liquid, and they are difficult to make sure they are clean, since you can’t see through the straw.

Glass

Glass straws are pretty. The prettiest of the options, IMO. Glass straws are reusable and you can see if they are clean. However, they also come with a hefty price tag.

30 dollars for a set of 4… I’m in college! I don’t have 30 dollars to spend on something pretty. Maybe after graduation…

Paper

Better for the environment than plastic, but still disposable. More reasonably priced.

6-7 dollars for 144. I didn’t order any paper straws because I like to chew my straws and I don’t enjoy eating paper. They come in a variety of cute patterns, I just don’t think they are for me.

Silicone

Silicone ended up being my baby bear. Reusable and in my price range. They don’t transfer heat, so they don’t get cold in smoothies. You can still chew on the ends. And best of all, they are completely non-toxic.

I ordered a set of 4 silicone reusable straws from GreenPaxx off of Amazon for $10.95.

I am not affiliated with this company, and I am not receiving anything for my review. Although, all things on the table, Code Boyfriend did get a job offer from Amazon. Yay Amazon!

Back to the straws.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These straws are, for lack of a better term, cool. They come in 2 pieces! I was worried this would make them leak, but I’ve had no issues with that.

The 2 piece design really does make them easy to clean, but I have noticed that the dishwasher doesn’t get them all the way clean if they haven’t been rinsed out or soaked after smoothie-time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But on the upside, they are dishwasher safe, so I feel that they are sterilized.

Once run through the dishwasher, or even hand washed, the straws do not hold on to any odors from my smoothies. Even when Code Boyfriend used one for a frappuccino. Not even coffee stained these bad boys.

They are also huge, great for thick smoothies and milkshakes.

The only thing I don’t like about these straws is the overall look. They do look very childish, only coming in hot pink or blue, with lime green.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I would still highly recommend investing in some of these straws if you too find yourself going through too many plastic straws.

Leave a Reply

