The Pinterest Kale Bandwagon

For about a year now, I’ve been seeing kale and kale chips all over Pinterest. I was under the impression that kale was a garnish, but I was bored on Sunday afternoon, so I tried kale chips.

They taste great! I will admit the texture is funky. Kind of like eating fallen leaves. I also found out that you get a stomach ache if you eat as many of them as you would potato chips… just a warning.

Kale Chips

Balsamic Vinegar Kale Chips

  • 1 Bunch of Kale
  • 4 Tablespoons of Olive Oil
  • 4 Tablespoons of Balsamic Vinegar
  • Salt to taste

Kale Chips

Wash kale leaves in a sink full of water with vinegar to ensure they are clean. I use white vinegar for this, as well as washing my other fruits and veggies.

Kale Chips

Tear the kale in bite sized pieces, and dry in a salad spinner.

Kale Chips

Combine the balsamic vinegar and olive oil in a large bowl. Add dry kale, and toss to coat. Depending on the size of the bunch of kale, more oil and vinegar may be necessary. Just keep the ratio at 1:1, and make sure the kale is coated.

Kale Chips

Once the kale is coated, lay in a single layer on baking sheet and salt. Place the kale in a 350 degree oven for 6 minutes.

Kale Chips

After 6 minutes, flip the kale leaves. They will be stiff and chip like at this point. I found it easiest to flip them with my fingers, but be careful, the pan is much hotter than the kale.

Kale Chips

Place back in the oven for another 4-7 minute, depending on how large the pieces are. In the second half of the cooking time, remove all pieces smaller pieces to a bowl so they do not overcook. Remove all kale chips from the baking sheet promptly after remove from the oven, or they’ll crumble when you try to remove them.

After my snack, I stored the kale chips in a zip top bag, and they’ve stayed fresh for 2 days now!

2 thoughts on “The Pinterest Kale Bandwagon

Leave a Reply

