Peachy Keen Smoothie

Peachy Keen Green Smoothie

My sleep challenge may be the death of me. Getting up at 6:45 is an extremely difficult task for me. Making breakfast at that hour seems like an impossible task.

I’m not going to lie, that means I’ve been having a lot of cereal. Not because it really takes me less time than a smoothie, just because I need to put the smoothie together in the fridge the night before if I want to have enough time to make one before my 8AM class. And I forget.

And after 30 days of smoothies, I always feel a little… slow if I don’t have one. Just not as peppy as normal.

Luckily, Code Boyfriend doesn’t have class at 8AM. He doesn’t have to be ready to run out the door ready for class. He is always down in the kitchen before me, and doesn’t mind starting my smoothies.

So, one day last week, he asked me what I wanted in my smoothie. I rattled off some fruit we had in the house, and he chucked it into the blender.

When I finally came bumbling down the stairs, this is what I got.

It was fabulous! Mild, and fruity. Not super sour like my smoothies can sometimes be. It perked me right up, and is now one of my favorites!

 

Peachy Keen Green Smoothie

  • 1/4 Cup of Quick Cooking Oats
  • 1/4 Cup of Plain Greek Yogurt
  • 1 handful of Baby Spinach
  • 1/4 Cup of Frozen Strawberries
  • 1/4 Cup of Frozen Cherries
  • 1/2 of a Peach, canned

A quick note about fruit. This is the kind I used. If you have fresh berries, use them, but you may need to add ice to improve the texture and make the smoothie cold. If you are avoiding BPA, use all frozen fruits, but be sure that you add some extra liquid, or your smoothie will be more like sorbet.

Peachy Keen Green Smoothie

Blend until smooth. I like to pour mine into a mason jar to take to school. Then, once I’m done, I can screw the lid on, and the smoothie isn’t permanently glued to the side of the jar by the time I get home.

Peachy Keen Green SmoothieGood to the last drop!

2 thoughts on “Peachy Keen Smoothie

Leave a Reply

