I Tried the Life Changing Bread

I ran across a picture of The Life Changing Bread from My New Roots on Pinterest, and I was really intrigued.

Life Changing Bread | Anxiety and Coffee

It was a bread made without flour, and looks like hunks of granola bars, but promised a bread like texture.

I’ve been looking for something to accompany my morning smoothie. I just still want something more in my stomach to get me from 6:45 all the way to lunch.

This bread does contain a weird ingredient: Psyllium Seed Husks. I found psyllium husk powder at my local grocery store. It is also widely available on the internet. You should really head over to My New Roots for the whole story on this ingredient.

My only issue is that you can’t buy a little of it. This whole bread only calls for 3 tablespoons, and the smallest bottle I could get contains about 2 and a half cups.

It is amazing bread, though! If you are trying low carb or gluten free anything, this should definitely be a staple in your pantry.

I did stray from My New Roots recipe a tad. Code Boyfriend and I are really picky about the nuts we eat. And I wasn’t sure I could sell him on whole flax.

But here is my version of My New Root’s Life Changing Bread

  • 1 Cup of Sunflower Seeds
  • 1/2 Cup Milled Flax Seed
  • 1/2 Cup Unsalted Peanuts
  • 1 and 1/2 Cup Quick Oats
  • 3 Tablespoons of Psyllium Husk Powder
  • 1 Teaspoon Salt
  • 1 Tablespoon Maple Syrup
  • 3 Tablespoons of Olive Oil
  • 1 and 3/4 Cups of Water

The original recipe calls for a silicon baking pan. I just used my regular metal bread pan, greased, and everything worked out fine.

Life Changing Bread

Combine the seeds, nuts, oats, salt and husks in the bread pan.

Life Changing Bread

Then, combine the water, oil, and syrup in measuring cup. I love the science that happens in baking. The chemical separation of these ingredients is cool. Mix the wet ingredients well and pour over the dry.

Life Changing Bread

Mix extremely well. This will make a sticky dough. If you are finding dry spots, add a little more water.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Allow the dough to sit on the counter for at least 2 hours. I waited 3, but the original recipe says you can leave it out all day or overnight.

Life Changing Bread

Cook in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes.

Life Changing Bread

Then, remove the bread from the pan, and place directly on the oven rack for another 30. Let cool completely before slicing.

Life Changing Bread

This bread is amazing with butter, jams, or cream cheese for breakfast. I’ve had a piece toasted every day this week. My New Roots recommends pesto, which I haven’t tried, but think sounds amazing!

Life Changing Bread

I’ll definitely continue making this with different nuts, seeds, and maybe even some cinnamon next time! Please let me know if you create anything amazing!

Leave a Reply

